God · Music

This week I’m listening to…

A couple of weeks ago someone introduced me to the American Christian band Sidewalk Prophets and ever since, I’ve been obsessively listening to their newest album: Something Different. There’s a pretty good mix of styles and, though there are always those songs in the album that you skip every time, this album is one of those special, rare ones where I’m quite happy to listen to any of the tracks.

It’s a little ridiculous, but I have serious issues listening to words when there’s music involved (musicals and general storytelling songs are a nightmare). Once I pull up the lyrics online and read them whilst the songs are playing, I’ve realised how beautiful some of the messages in the songs are. I especially like the first track in the album; so much so that I’ve gone and used my questionable GarageBand skills to throw together a cover.

I do recommend listening to the original: it really is something special.

Leave a Reply

